Based: Durban

THEE LEGACY – Are SATMA 2017 Awards winning Acapella group, the third generation and grandsons of the members of the legendary Ladysmith Black Mammbazo.  This Afro-Ethnic accapela group, blends afro-traditional with urban rhythms, laced beautiful with Zulu melodies, harmoniously weaved together with dance choreography. The group consists of FIVE members who hail from the rural hills of KwaZulu-Natal. With both the urban contemporary sound and afro-rhythms, the band stays rooted in the harmonious of Zulu voices of songs sung during the harvest, weddings and rain ceremonies deeply influence by South African heritage.  Their musical and dance versatility allows them to transcend between traditional Zulu and English songs, to various Zulu dance formations of Isicathamiya.

Famous for their two single which blew up in the country in 2017 titled “Standwa Sam” and “Wena wedwa”, The song Wena Wedwa got them a brand endorsement  with Simba for an advert on Simba campaign. Their self titled album was released  in 2017 through  Sony music.  They have traveled around the world  spreading the message of peace, love and harmony including their recent travel to Belo Horizonte and Brasillia, Brazil in September 2018 to showcase at the Nelson Mandela 100 Centenary organized by the South Africa Department of Arts and Culture and the Department of International Relations.

Each member’s love for music started at an early age, and together they made their mark in June, 2015 when they won Sing off SA competition on SABC 1. SABC 1 is the leading TV channel in South Africa with its coverage reaching 91.2% of the nation’s population.  Thee Legacy has shared the stage with music giants/greats such as Oliver Mtukudzi, Ladysmith Black Mambazo, The Soil, Soul Brothers and Amanda Black to name a few. 

Thee Legacy has been nominated for SAMAS in 2017, MetroFM Music Awards in 2017 and three times South African Traditional Music Awards (SATMA) for the afro-rooted music rendition.  

Band Members:

  • Jabulani Mthembu: Lead Vocalist & Composer
  • Philani Duma: Vocalist: Tenor 
  • Simphiwe  Sikhakhane: Lead Vocalist – Alto & Composer/Beatbox
  • Emile  Ngcobo: Vocalist: Bass & poetry
  • Khanyisani Mazibuko: Vocalist: bass & alto