Based: Johannesburg

Real name Samkelo Lelethu Mdolomba, Samthing Soweto is a South African musician based in Johannesburg. His music career kicked-off as one of the founding members of South African music ensemble The Soil. While with the group, Soweto contributed to the release of their self-titled debut album ‘The Soil’ (2011). He is credited for his thrilling vocal appearance, co-writing, composing and producing eight songs from their 11-track multi-platinum ‘The Soil’.

Soweto later left the group to start a solo career. His maiden solo project was an independently released EP titled ‘This n That’. The project featured a song titled ‘Peace N Lovely Things’ – a tribute to the late Miriam Makeba. He is also known for his appearance as a front man for Nu jazz band The Fridge. The band was made up of him on vocals; drummer, Ade Omotade and bassist Muthusi Thusi. Through his involvement, the band gained local success and played at a number of events around Johannesburg.

He has also made an appearance as collaborator and producer on a South African poetry Album ‘I Am Not Going Back To The Township’ (2013). The album fuses local dialects such as Zulu and Sotho to communicate subjects of class, poverty, literacy as well as life for a black man in South Africa.

In 2014, he released Eb’suku, a 5 track EP released on itunes as well as Bandcamp. The EP earned him a place at the “Rocking the Daises” Festival stage in Cape Town. In 2015, he made an appearance at the Coke Studios (South Africa) together with Spoek Mathambo and Shane Cooper Card On Spokes. In 2016, he released two songs on SoundClod: ‘Thanda Wena’ and ‘Ubhukhazikhazi’.