Based: Pretoria

JACO VAN DER MERWE – lyricist / rapper
PEACH VAN PLETZEN – producer / vocalist / mixing
LOUIS MINNAAR – producer / vocalist / visual artist

After almost 2 years of creative labour, Afrikaans electro rap band Bittereinder are ecstatic to announce the release of their 2nd album “DIE DINKDANSMASJIEN” in November 2012. Sporting a sparkling host of new collaborators and masses of next level production, DIE DINKDANSMASJIEN is a true-to-form tour-de-force of layered lyrical depth laced over hard, stirring, beautiful beats.

Bittereinder formed in 2009, immediately began work on their first album ‘n Ware Verhaal (A True Story), and released it through Rhythm Records in October 2010. The album won a SAMA (South African Music Award) for Best Alternative Afrikaans Album of 2011, and was nominated for 2 Tempo Awards and 3 MK Awards.

The 4 singles and videos from the first album all hit number 1 spots on MK’s Top 10 and various
radio stations across South Africa. Their love for collaboration has seen the band make songs with Chris Chameleon, Tumi Molekane (Tumi & the Volume), Inge Beckmann (Lark/Beast), Hunter Kennedy (Fokofpolisiekar/ Heuwels), Jack Parow, Toast Coetzer (Buckfever Underground), Dawid Kramer, Dutch rapper, Tim Beumers, Richard Brokensha (Isochronous), HemelBesem, Hano de Jongh (The Narrow) and Shane Durrant (Desmond & the Tutus) amongst many others.

Bittereinder has established a solid live reputation over the past 20 months of performances at festivals in South Africa and the Netherlands.